Gazing on the Cross

I’ve commented before about the effect certain lines of Scripture have on me. All I need to do is hear them and something in me releases; I immediately relax into the presence and love of God. During a daily Mass sermon the other day, the priest made a similar observation, pointing out that just looking at the crucifix does something to us; it brings a feeling of peace.

In both cases there is a direct effect, an affective response, that does not depend on any rational or discursive thought. There is an immediacy to the reaction, an immediate awareness of the presence of God beside me. There is no analysis, no working out of anything, indeed, no real thinking at all. There is stimulus (cross, scripture, perhaps some other image, music) and there is response.

I think there may be some things that are universal in their effect, e.g., the effect of the cross on Christians. In other cases, different pieces of scripture, different images, different pieces of music, etc., my cause that sense of immediate release and relaxation into the arms of God. So it is important for each of us to identify those things that are our doorways into an enounter with the divine and that lead us to that sense of peace and overwhelming love. When you identify it for yourself, you might consider sharing it with others – who knows what encounter of another with the divine you may facilitate.

What is it for you?