He Desired Me So I Came Close

My friend Beth over on Journey posted St. Teresa’s prayer yesterday, which led me to pull out a book containing some poems By Daniel Ladinsky “channeling” various mystics.  Teresa of Avila has long been one of my favorite mystics and here is a poem I’ve shared with retreatants that is Ladinsky channeling Teresa.  It is called, He Desired Me So I Came Close, and it is a good poem to keep around for moments when we are feeling a little insecure.

He desired me so I came close.

No one can near God unless He has
prepared a bed for you.

A thousand souls hear His call every second,
but most every one then looks into their life’s mirror and
says, “I am not worthy to leave this sadness.”

When I first heard His courting song, I too
looked at all I had done in my life and said,

“How can I gaze into His omnipresent eyes?”
I spoke those words with all my heart,

but then He sang again, a song even sweeter,
and when I tried to shame myself once more from His presence
God showed me His compassion and spoke a divine truth,

“I made you, dear, and all I make is perfect.
Please come close, for I
desire
you.”  

2 thoughts on “He Desired Me So I Came Close

  1. Pingback: Journey » Blog Archive » Change Our Hearts

  2. Wow. Thanks for letting me know about this poem. I really appreciate the insight that Teresa had. The Carmelite saints are so amazing in the depth and bredth of their insight. And they’re great poets too!

Leave a comment