What Can I Do For You?

Yesterday I had breakfast with my friend Dave. We manage to get together every couple of months for breakfast or lunch and it is always nourishing for me.

At some point near the end of almost every one of our times together, Dave looks at me and says, “What can I do for you?” I’m deeply touched each time he asks the question, which is posed in a way that lets me know he means it.

One of the first things Jesus often asked people he met was “What do you want me to do for you?” What do you need? How can I help?

Merely being asked the question is a balm. And it invites examination of where we need healing, where we might need a helping hand – perhaps uncovering something we didn’t even know was there.

What a difference it might make if we approached everyone with that aim of uncovering: What can I do for you? How can I make your life better/easier?

Perhaps the gift we lay at the creche on Christmas morning might be a resolve to try to do exactly that.

3 thoughts on “What Can I Do For You?

  1. Ah — such a healing question, but so often, such a difficult one to answer. You are so right: it calls for an examination of where I am, what I need. These are issues that are so often lost in the shuffle or pushed down in an effort to ignore them. I so seldom take the time to look closely and figure out what it is I think I need or want.

    Thanks, Susan (and your friend Dave) for the sharing.

  2. For the majority of God’s children, I would venture to say Liz’s answer may apply to most everyone, “…what I need (or need to work on). These are issues that are so often lost in the shuffle or pushed down in an effort to ignore them.”

    The homily this morning (once again) was centered on “healing our broken nature.” For many, does sin not get lost in the ‘shuffle’ along with the mostly ‘Christ’ like life lived daily?

    Preparing for reconciliation most often requires one to reach ‘down’ deeply to recall ‘sins’ committed – mass missed once in the past three months, some colorful language used last week when a driver cut in front of the car, expressing irritation at a co-workers suggestions while striving to meet a project dead line, etc. . . If anything, often the most difficult of life’s trials and tribulations are not to respond in kind to another due to their insensitivities rather than responding respectfully to others as is our ‘nature’. How broken is our nature?

    “What can I do for you?” Celebrate another’s shortcomings and misadventures – especially when one steps out of their comfort zones and attempts, each in their own way, to acknowledge, to comfort, to help and encourage others as their day unfolds.

    Are we truly ‘broken’ or simply not ‘completed’ yet? . . .

  3. If there is truth to the adage, all things balance out. Good and evil; virtue and sin, etc. . . might not blessings be balanced with burdens?

    The more blessings we receive, the more is asked of us and as is ‘our nature’, might not the reply, ‘Why me, Lord?” also be natural?

    Would both person and preacher be better served by encouraging embracing the changes and challenges that are part of journey’s burdens that offer blessings unexpected? Why is excessive attention paid a ‘scab’ that conceals healing while the remainder if His creation functions harmoniously?

    When one celebrates the entirety of the liturgical season each new day are not blessings and burdens often in closer harmony?

Leave a Reply

