How I Approach Decisions

Today was the fourth session of the five-week series I am offering at the University of St. Thomas this fall on Discerning My Place in the World.  In the first session of the series we focused first on God’s invitation to each of us to co-labor with him in the building of Kingdom; on the second, with getting in touch with our deepest desires; and in the third session identifying our gifts.   The theme for today’s session was How I Approach Decisions.

The talk I gave drew from the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius, a wonderful tool for discernment.  I spoke about the context in which we make our decisions, and then shared some tools from the Spiritual Exercises and Ignatian Spirituality that help us discern how to use our gifts to build God’s kingdom.  After my talk, we had a good discussion about letting go of roads not taken and how we receive confirmation of our choices.

You can access a recording of my talk at today’s session here or stream it from the icon below.  (The podcast runs for 27:20.) You can find the prayer material I distributed today here.

