The Universal Call to Heal the World

Today was the first session of the five-week series I am offering at the University of St. Thomas this fall on Discerning My Place in the World.  My talk at today’s session both introduced the series and focused on God’s invitation to all of us to participate in his plan for the world.

I used St. Ignatius’ opening prayer of Week 2 of his Spiritual Exercises, the Kingdom Exercise, as a way to talk about our invitation to labor with Christ for building God’s Kingdom.  Most of the talk, however, was aimed at helping people embrace the reality that each of them individually is called by God.

After my talk, we had some time for silent reflection on the participant’s experience of being called by God, an exercise I encouraged them to continue to pray with after the session.

You can access a recording of my talk at today’s session here or stream it from the icon below.  You can find the prayer material I distributed today here.

Leave a Reply

