A Week Into Lent

How are we all doing with our Lenten resolutions at the one week mark?

I’ve successfully stayed off of Facebook thus far (only my blog posts get automatically sent there), and I’m keeping to my resolve to give away one item each day during the 40 days of Lent (accumulating items each day in a box that I will give away when Lent is over).  I’ve also stuck with my commitment to give up sweets.  So I’m doing OK on the almsgiving and fasting front.

I confess, however, that I could be devoting more time to prayer than I have been.  And I’m guessing that is true for many of us.

The good news is that Lent is only 1/6 over, which means there is plenty of time for us all to gear up (or re-gear up) to make Lent meaningful.

If you are looking for ways to stimulate your prayer, you have many options:

On this site, you can find podcasts and prayer material from prior Lent Retreats in Daily Living I have given.  (Check the podcast page at the top.)

The University of St. Thomas offers daily Lent reflections that you can subscribe to and receive early each morning by e-mail here.

The Ignatian spirituality site has numerous prayer resources for Lent, which you can find here.

And that is only a smattering of what is available; there is no shortage of aids to jumpstart your Lenten prayer.

Blessings as we continue to move through this holy season.

