Introduction to Mindfulness

Today I gave a talk and led a guided meditation for the Project for Mindfulness and Contemplation at the University of St. Thomas on the subject of mindfulness.

I think the practice of mindfulness is a particularly useful one in our time.  Not only do we not live mindfully most of the time, but we celebrate the fact that we don’t do so by touting our ability to multi-task, to do several things at once.  As I shared in my talk, by definition, if I am engaged in multiple activities at the same time, I am not fully present to any of them.

We had a great turnout for the session, including a few who had engaged in some mindfulness practice in the past and others who were completely new to the practice.

You can access a recording of the session here or stream it from the icon below. The podcast runs for 37:24 and includes the guided meditation.  As is my usual practice, I did  not record our discussion and question and answer afterwards.   After the question and answer session, I also talked a bit about walking mindfulness meditation and shared some mindfulness practices suggested by Thich Nhat Hanh’s book, The Miracle of Mindfulness.  Although that is not included on the podcast, I highly recommend the book.

Leave a Reply

