Devotion to the Sacred Heart

I confess that traditional depictions of the Sacred Heart of Jesus leave me cold.  While they may be meaningful to some people, pictures of a pierced and bleeding heart don’t appeal much to me.

Yes, as the Jesuit James Kubicki observes,

let’s not throw the baby out with the bathwater.  Images of the Sacred Heart of Jesus are not the actual Heart of Christ – the divine and human heart that loves us as no one else can. …Whatever our taste in images, we do not have to miss the deeper reality of the Heart of Jesus.

At the Jesuit Retreat House in Osh Kosh, where I have been since this past Sunday, there is an image of the Sacred Heart I love.  There is a Chapel of the Sacred Heart on the grounds, and when you enter it, this is what you see.

 To this image I can pray, “O Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place my trust in thee.”

Leave a Reply

