Graduation Day 2016

I have to confess that I love Graduation Day at the Law School.  I always shed at least a few tears as I watch students I have taught or counseled or otherwise walked with over the last three years walk across the stage to get hooded.

I also confess that I pray (and have posted) the same prayer each year for our graduations, a prayer drawn from the hopes Ita Ford conveyed to her niece and goddaughter in a letter written a few months before Ford, along with two other women, was kidnapped, abused and murdered by the military of El Salvador in 1980. Ford wrote:

I hope you come to find that which gives life a deep meaning for you…something worth living for, maybe even worth dying for…something that energizes you, enthuses you, enables you to keep moving ahead. I can’t tell you what it might be — that’s for you to find, to choose, to love. I can just encourage you to start looking, and support you in the search.

Congratulations to the UST Law School Class of 2016!  May you live lives of deep meaning!  Blessings to you on this day and always.

One thought on “Graduation Day 2016

Leave a Reply

