Who Are Your Heroes?

I am again teaching an undergraduate honors seminar this J-term at the University of St. Thomas. When I taught the course last year, the figures we focused on were Malala Yousafzai, Oscar Romero, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Dorothy Day, Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandela and Helen Prejean.

As I am planning how to teach the course this semester (something I spent the bulk of yesterday doing), I thought it would be a good exercise to ask you to consider the questions I ask my students on the first day of the seminar:

How do you define heroism? What is it that makes you call someone a hero?

Name three people to whom you personally apply the label hero and explain why?

Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments here. It might give me some ideas for people to talk about in class. 🙂

One thought on “Who Are Your Heroes?

  1. For me, a hero is someone who has a sense of her or his integrity, a sense of something (or Someone) to live for. In the face of difficulties, the hero has resources to call upon – within one self and with the community (and also with God) – that enable her or him to stand up when others give in.

    Dorothy Day and Monseñor Romero are of course two of my heroes. But I would add Sophie Scholl, a member of the White Rose, in Munich during the Second World War. There are a a number of books on her and the other members of the White Rose. There is also a movie which I find fascinating since it doesn’t treat the decision to stand up as something easy.

    Blessings on your course.

Leave a Reply

