God Asks

On this feast of the Annunciation, I prayed with morning with Luke’s account of Gabriel’s encounter with Mary. It is a scene I pray with often.

Usually my focus is Mary’s yes, about which I have written on numerous occasions.

What I sat with this morning, however, was God’s request for human participation in his plan of salvation.  God asks.

If you think about it, that is pretty amazing.  God did, after all, create us.  God could have created us with no will to do anything other than that which he demanded.  But God didn’t.  Instead, God created human beings capable of consenting to or deviating from God’s plan for salvation.  And while God desires our consent and cooperation, he will not force it.

And so God asks – not just to Mary, but to each of us: Will you consent to your part in my plan?  Will you act with me?

It is your choice.  What do you say?

3 thoughts on “God Asks

  1. “And so God asks – not just to Mary, but to each of us: Will you consent to your part in my plan? Will you act with me?” For me, one interesting juxtaposition of this feast re: Holy Week is the same question God posed to Jesus of Nazareth….”Will you act with me?” The upcoming week brings the culmination to his “yes”.

  2. Mary is our quintessimal example of faith. Yes, even though she could not have known how this birth of the Son of God would work out.Yes, even though she stood at the cross and must have wondered how this could be part of God’s plan. Yes, even though much of God’s plan is a mystery to us as it must have been to her as well. I hope that I can say yes to even the small things that God asks of me as Mary did.

Leave a Reply

