Making Contact

I came across this poem by Virginia Satir earlier this week. Since it keeps coming back to me, I thought I’d share it. It is titled Making Contact.

I believe
The greatest gift
I can conceive of having
from anyone
is
to be seen by them,
heard by them,
to be understood
and
touched by them.
The greatest gift
I can give
is
to see, hear, understand
and to touch
another person.
When this is done
I feel
contact has been made.

We are all busy. We all have plenty of things to do. Things that, lamentably, sometimes keep us having enough time for each other. Enough time to really see, hear, understand and touch another.

Make some time today. Make Contact.

Leave a Reply

