The Blessing of Winter

Here in the Twin Cities it has warmed up to almost 25 degrees – a temperature my friends in other parts of the country call cold, but here is almost balmy for winter.

Still, we know more cold and snow is coming. Given that (and given that I’m too centered on grieving the loss of my friend John to come up with something deep or insightful today) I thought I’d share a piece by Michael Leunig from The Prayer Tree, something my friend Tim introduced me to many years ago.

We give thanks for the blessing of winter:
Season to cherish the heart.
To make warmth and quiet for the heart.
To make soups and broths for the heart.
To cook for the heart and read for the heart.
To curl up softly and nestle with the heart.
To sleep deeply and gently at one with the heart.
To dream with the heart.
To spend time with the heart.
We give thanks for the blessing of winter:
Season to cherish the heart.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

