Feet

Yes, i am aware that “Feet” is a pretty strange title for a blog post, but I am way too tired to be creative.

When I lived in Thailand, I was taught never to sit with the bottom of your feet pointed toward another person; doing so was considered disrespectful, because the feet are the lowest part of the body.

They may be the lowest, but on the Camino feet may be more important than any other body part. It is my feet that each day bear the weight of me and my pack (neither of which is all that light). My feet that must function hour after hour, kilometer after kilometer, whether my shoes are dry or wet, whether I have a blister or not, whether they are feeling fresh or tired. They do amazing work!

In 1 Corinthians we read, “If a foot should say, “Because I am not a hand I do not belong to the body,” it does not for this reason belong any less to the body. …God placed the parts, each one of them, in the body as he intended. If they were all one part, where would the body be? But as it is, there are many parts, yet one body. The eye cannot say to the hand, “I do not need you,” nor again the head to the feet, “I do not need you.”

Paul is speaking about more than physical body parts, but the Camino is a good reminder that what seems the least is often not so, and that a body needs all of its diverse parts to function effectively.

Leave a Reply

