No Matter How Difficult Things Seem…

…there are many whose suffering is far worse.

My friend Jeanne wrote to me the other day that when she feels tired, she thinks of how much more tired I must be on the Camino. I thought of her comment this morning.

When we left Boadilla, it was quite cold and the road was very rocky. (Note: rocky roads are no fun for blisters.). As I walked, Jeanne’s comment caused me to think of the plight of refugees. I walked in the cold, but with many layers of clothes on my back and sturdy shoes on my feet. I am guessing the same is not true for many of those fleeing from war and persecution.

At the end of my day, I knew I would get to eat a lovely meal, and tonight I will sleep in a warm bed. I am guessing the same is not true for many of those fleeing from war and persecution.

Having these thoughts this morning, I dedicated my walking today to the plight of the refugees of the world, praying that any suffering I experienced this day might be the cause of the mitigation of their suffering.

One thought on “No Matter How Difficult Things Seem…

Leave a Reply

