Your Faith Has Saved You

In today’s Gospel from St. Matthew, Jesus is one his way to the home of an official whose daughter has died. “Come, lay your hand on her, and she will live,” the official begs Jesus. And so Jesus and his disciple follow the man.

As they are walking, Jesus feels someone touch his cloak. It is a woman who has suffered hemorrhages for twelve years, a terrible suffering for a woman of that time. Apart from the physical pain, she would have been considered continually unclean, and therefore, outcast from the community.

I’m always awed by the woman’s thought: “If only I can touch his cloak, I shall be cured.” Awed because I’m not convinced that would have been enough for me. I fear I would have been like the official – right in Jesus’ face, wanting his direct attention, needing to know he was doing everything possible, wanting to see him do something big.

But not the woman. “If only I can touch his cloak..” What amazing confidence she had in Jesus!

And when Jesus sees her, he confirms that confidence. “Your faith has saved you.” And, Matthew tells us, “from that hour the woman was cured.”

Give me the faith of that woman, I pray.

Leave a Reply

